i’ve got a productive pattern going on….

I’m now in Word for half the day, first I write the essays for class,

then I go to the r.a.h.p  PROJECT,

then the MWA programs,

 

then talking with my (chosen) family,

in some respects, i’m becoming more boring every day,

but I love it,

 

I know this time, a few moons from now,

I’ll be back home,

that’s where my heart is.

 

so I’m carving my breaks,

into word/press…

 

re/reading inspirational words to direct my studies.

i’ll show you some of the poems I’ve found,

if you show me your treasures.

 

 

sonia sanchez

 

whose gold is carrying you home?

whose wealth is walking you through

this urban terror? whose greed

left you shipwrecked with golden

eyes staring in sudden death?

 

you were in

a place hot

at the edge

of our minds.

 

you were in

a new world

 

a country

pushing with

blk corpses

distinct with

paleness and

it swallowed

you whole.

i will not

burp you up.

i hold you

close to my heart.”

 

 

In closing, Sonia who had high hopes of returning to Howard to teach again for the spring semester but was told by the dean that she could not due to a lack of funding, read a poem called Catch the Fire (originally written for Bill Cosby) for the youth in the audience:

 

 

Sister/Sistah. Brother/Brotha. Come/Come.

 

CATCH YOUR FIRE…DON’T KILL

HOLD YOUR FIRE…..DON’T KILL

LEARN YOUR FIRE…DON’T KILL

BE THE FIRE……………..DON’T KILL

 

Catch the fire and burn with eyes

that see our souls:

 

WALKING.

SINGING.

BUILDING.

LAUGHING.

LEARNING.

LOVING.

TEACHING.

BEING.

 

Hey. Brother/Brotha. Sister/Sistah.

 

Here is my hand.

 

Catch the fire…and live.

