one of my favourite artists. thank you for your teachings sistren.
I just heard this song for the first time a couple of days ago, the message is not new, it’s powerful.

 

I’ve christened it my antidote to feeling angry/depressed about the nobel peace prize and the capitulation to capitalism by the powers that be.  There was no delayed reaction when I first read about Obama’s award, as with his election as president of the United States of AmeriKKKa, it feels and looks like another desperate attempt to save imperialism.

Because ofcourse he is still the president of the most destructive super power on earth. And the genocides and wars being inf licted on palestinians, afghanistans, and new Afrikans on his own home soil do not deserve to be strategically exploited in this manner.

I have got to declare my bias here though, I’ve never really thought much of the Nobel Peace Prize to begin with, the only time I really paid attention to the award in recent years was when Wangari Maathai was awarded the prize in 2004. It was much closer to home and significant because (as I’m sure many of you know already) it was the first one awarded to an African woman.

And there are still many more African womyn and men who I would give the prize to before Obama, and this would be one of the songs played at the awards ceremony, together with other artists (for social change) like asa, baaba maal, dead prez, godessa, k’naan, headroc, queen ifrica, ukoo flani…but I digress…the point is I won’t agonise so much as jus organise for peace.

  

