this is part of what I’m going to be talking about tomorrow at the, aforementioned, roundtable discussion……this interviews was part of the original series that I was going to release this week, but if you’ve been following the posts. there’s been drama. therefore as life is, as my pal lynn always likes repeating to me, everytrhing changes….nothing remains the same.

 

it doesn’t matter what I had intended. it matters what is important now. like that impending anti homosexuality bill in Uganda. have you heard the latest? I’m still waiting for more details, which speaks volumes about the gaps we face in organising, because, I for one, should know better.

 

my partner works in Uganda, has been dealing with repurcussions of all these acts. and yet we hardly talk anymore. we both so caught up. so busy. looking for money. looking for people to listen to the case of this person who was arrested for…..and this other one who was assualted for….and other one who dies….we are faced with the multitasking goliath of conferences, capacity building, fundraising, interviews, arguments, and ltos of fighting. you get used to secrecy.

 

if you;ve been paying attention, I’ve been exploring the subject of secrecy and truth telling. but enough about what was, or is, here’ something else…

 

another teacher.

we are the survivors.

we are the ones we’re looking for.

 in this post, I (re) introduce you to Audrey Mbugua,

one of my comrades, who’s one of the  foot soldiers & village intellectuals at the forefront of queer & trans activism in East Afrika today.

ase.

She is one of the founders of Transgender Education and Advocacy,

 the only organisation focused on working on intersex & trans issues in Kenya.

how can you help?

donate money.

donate your time.

share your resources.

find out for youself what you can do.

 

warriors

